MARCO POLO in SW Michigan

This past Friday, my friend, Alan, + I took a day trip

 to Harbor Country in SW Michigan.

Who knew?!

A gorgeous, sandy beach — right here in the Midwest?!

harbor country beach

That’s right!

It’s only a couple hours drive from Chicago!

harbor country map

Alan vacations there frequently.

Who wouldn’t want to spend the day at that beach?

But wait.  There’s more.

Harbor Country has the coolest antiques stores . . .

 . . . the coolest of which is

MARCO POLO

in Harbert

MPLOGO

13565 Red Arrow Highway

Harbert, MI

269.469.6272

http://marcopoloantiques.com/

marco polo exterior

Marco Polo is in a stunning, rustic/modern building

with board + batten siding + a corrugated metal roof.

Of course, you’ll find yourself longing to live there!  I know I did.

marco polo interior

Inside there is a carefully curated selection of mind-blowing antiques.

marco polo interior tourist home sign

The stunning, immaculate property also includes a barn,

which, on the day we visited, was filled with discounted pieces.

I brought home a pair of lamps made from old car jacks.

(Disclaimer: please disregard the errant lampshade in this photo!)

IMG_3934(1)

Silly me.

I errantly assumed that my new Frenchie-stripe lampshades

 would play nicely with my new lamps.

Sadly, they’re too top heavy for those narrow jacks.

(Stay tuned!)

* * *

While I ponder my lampshade shopping options,

check out these fantastic antiques

(from Marco Polo’s website.)

Wooden 1930's truck

Wooden 1930’s truck

This truck has been sold, as have all the other items I’m sharing.

I don’t have current photos

because I seem to have forgotten my camera that day.

Switchboard stool

Switchboard stool

If you find yourself loving anything here, trust me.  You’d love the store!

Parts drawers with original labels

Parts drawers with original labels

Hickory rocker I've always wanted one of these!

Hickory rocker
I’ve always wanted one of these!

Early 20th c. wallpaper table

Early 20th c. wallpaper table

Boat house numbers

Boat house numbers. Seriously. How fabulous is something like this as a statement piece?

Farm pantry cabinet I love mixing primitives with modern!

Farm pantry cabinet
I love mixing primitives with modern, + I’m super crushing on that white metal stool!

Folky wooden birdhouse

Folky wooden birdhouse

1930's teal lockers

1930’s teal locker

Michigan sign

Michigan sign Nobody loves the chippy, golden yellow paint more than I do!

Train porter's steel stool with my favorite of all the old paint -- red!

Train porter’s steel stool
with my favorite of all the old paint — red!

Metal 2-piece bakery stand

Metal 2-piece bakery stand

People.

 These photos are just the tip of the iceberg, if you will.

Their website has dozens + dozens more photos

of amazing antiques.

Go there:

http://marcopoloantiques.com/

Then, go here:

harbor country map #2

MPLOGO

HARBERT, MICHIGAN

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

Hommemaking with Orlando Soria!

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

