PLATE RACK LOVE

As I was doing yet another “move-around” in my kitchen the other day, I remembered a black plate rack that had been in my retail store. Sadly, it didn’t look right in my kitchen; I think the space was too small . . .

My black peg rack.

My black plate rack — just not ‘working’ in my kitchen.

. . . but it did remind me of another countertop plate rack that I’d seen in a long-ago Country Living magazine.  Somehow,  I miraculously remembered the name of the kitchen’s designer!  Nancy Fishelson.  Here’s her gorgeous Connecticut kitchen:

Nancy Fishelson

Nancy Fishelson’s kitchen with the countertop plate rack

Nancy Fishelson

SO, Nancy Fishelson is a fan of the ‘move-around’, just like I am.  Here’s the plate rack in another room.

I love everything in this photo!

I love everything in this photo!

I’ve always longed for kitchen cabinets with a built-in plate rack.  So charming!


I am loving how these kitchen islands are rocking the plate rack.  Note to self: do this in next kitchen!

Since I was going down design memory lane, I also thought of Diane Keaton’s fantastic dining room in the movie Something’s Gotta Give.

something's gotta give plate rack

Wall o' blue + white plates.

Wall o’ blue + white plates.


The hanging plate rack seems to be the most eclectic of all . . . you can even rock the modern + industrial version!

I love the chest, the wood countertop + the industrial lamp.  K.M.Y.

I love the chest, the wood countertop + the industrial lamp. K.M.Y.

1/2 of me loves this; the other 1/2 fears it looks goofy.  The red floor rules, though!

1/2 of me loves this; the other 1/2 fears it’s goofy. That red floor + sink skirt are awesome, though!

From the late, great Cottage Living magazine.

From the late, great Cottage Living magazine.

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

