What Would I Do If That Room Was Mine?

 Every week, I receive a heads up e-mail from www.houzz.com (awesome!) that they call This Week On Houzz.  I’m always a little thrilled to see it in my e-mail inbox — even more so when there’s a house that I love!

Today’s favorite would be this repurposed old barn in New Jersey.  Look at that space!  Look at those beams!

Houzz

Houzz

Me being me, I started playing my “what I’d do if that was mine” game.   FUN!

I would like a little more color, please,  starting with a colorful, patterned rug or 2.

 I’d layer them on top of my existing neutral sisal, like these guys did.  Genius!

Alrightie, back to me being me.  I’ve already “shopped” online + have a rug I covet.  YUM!

Pottery Barn

Pottery Barn

Once my rug’s been chosen, I’d add some much-needed pops of color + pattern with coordinating pillows on those neutral chairs + couch.

And now, the TV.  It stands out in our barn because it’s the a dark rectangle on something white  in very white room.  I’d rather it blend in, so . . .

 . . . if I had a large decorating budget, I (G.O.) would make a built-in TV wall, like this one.  Notice how the shelf backs are painted a color to coordinate with the room!  Genius!

Samperton blog

Samperton blog

If G.O.’s not up to the task or our budget wouldn’t allow the built-ins, I’d look for something large-ish, darker + interesting, like this:

Pottery Barn, the sequel

Pottery Barn, Part 4

Next, I’d add some artwork in dark frames to help make the TV fit in.   I love the casual, asymmetrical styling of this gallery:

Source unknown

Source unknown, but at least it’s not Pottery Barn

If I’m feeling more orderly, I’d hang my artwork/photos in a grid around my TV.

Source unknown

Source unknown

But me being me, I’d like these art ledges to satisfy my need to constantly re-do. I could re-arrange all I’d like, with no holes in the wall!

Little Green Notebook

Little Green Notebook

Speaking of art ledges, G.O. made + hung some groovy ones in our dining room, + I couldn’t love anything more.

Also, I’ve been propping artwork on the floor like these winners did.  Our thoughts?

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix