Daybed Dreaming

For those who are unaware, we’ve bought ourselves a foreclosure house (a.k.a. ‘a project’) + have big plans to re-do.

We’ll be down-sizing, so I shall attempt to create a spare bedroom/sewing studio combo.  Good luck with that — my sewing room looks like a tornado blew through it.  Yikes.

Anyway, this means thatI have spent the entire a.m., online shopping for daybeds — which means I now know that 80% of all daybeds look something like this:

daybed 10 year old boy

I like to call these the ’10-year-old boy’ daybed collection.  Since I dress like a 10-year-old boy, this might not be a stretch.

Va va va voom!

Va va va voom!

But I digress.  Next up, here we have a few variations on the daybed that I kind of liked:

I’m on the fence, re: this one:  It’s wacky + vintage-looking, which is kind of what I’m all about.  I dunno.

daybed wacky metal fun

My favorite, thus far, would be this plain Jane platform-style daybed:

daybed plain jane wood platform

Now, here’s where it gets good.  Pottery Barn has the coolest upholstered mattress for daybeds.  There’s my PB love kicking in!

I know!  Awesome!

I know! Awesome!

My fabric choices are this black ticking stripe or a gold-tan solid called honey.  Nobody loves the ticking stripe more than I do!  I prefer navy (of course), but maybe I could embrace the black, instead.  Either way might be wrong, because we’ll have issues with black dog hair.  See below:

L-R: Dory, G.O.,Chloe + grandlad.

L-R: Dory, G.O., Chloe + grandlad. Go Cubs?

Since the dogs aren’t going anywhere, I might see if I can get a similar mattress custom-made by an upholsterer — something a tad more black dog hair friendly.  Do I hear something in a medium-to-dark gray?  Denim?  Stay tuned!

2 responses to “Daybed Dreaming

  • Kathy

    Good luck on the bedroom/sewing room combo. Even with a daybed, I need more space!!! Sounds like the foreclosure is a go? I foresee a road trip north when you take possession.

  • cardinalkay64

    Once we get rid of this humongous desk + desktop bozoputer, things will be bettah, space-wise. Somebody get Craig’s List up + running!
    K A Y

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

