Baseball + Espalier

Yay — SPRING is here!  It’s Opening Day for my Cardinals + the Cubbies!

The 'new' Busch Stadium, finished in 2006, has a cool view of the St. Louis arch.

The ‘new’ Busch Stadium, finished in 2006, has a cool view of the St. Louis arch.

There's talk that the Cubs might leave Wrigley + head to the 'burbs!

There’s talk that the Cubs might leave Wrigley + head to the ‘burbs!

  While today my heart is in St. Louis . . . I’m as busy as a bee, sewing pillows at home (near Chicago), instead.

Speaking of pillows, I gave my niece + her husband their own custom pillow on Easter.

Speaking of pillows, I gave my niece + her husband a custom pillow on Easter.

For my baseball fix, I’m listening to the Cubbies’ broadcast on WGN radio, while I toil.

Don’t be confused —  it’s never ALL work + no play for me . . .

. . . not when there’s Pinterest in my little world!

I swooned when I spied this charming Paris flower shop pin this a.m.!

french flower shop

Sadly, the closest I’ve gotten to visiting Paris is when House Hunters International goes there.

Ooh la la + note to self: put some pretty annuals in baskets!

Speaking of pretty annuals, late last month, I drug some of my peeps on an outing to this awesome garden center in St. Louis:

bowood farms

bowood farms exterior

http://www.bowoodfarms.com/

I ‘splurged’ + bought myself a 6-pack of violas . . .

violas blue

. . . while wanting, instead, one of their topiary houseplants . . .

Bowood farms topiaries

. . .  OR, even better yet, one of their espalier apple trees!

espalier against stone

As you can see, espalier is training fruit trees or shrubs to grow in flattened form.

espalier + boxwood

espalier criss-cross

Instructions for espalier can be found online, if you’re interested in trying this in your garden. (I am!)

Isn't this illustration adorable?  I'm sorry; I don't know the source.

Isn’t this illustration adorable? I’m sorry — I don’t know the source.

A small, young fruit tree can be had for $20-ish, no?

However, if you need more instant gratification,

you can spring for a pre-trained plant at a high-end garden center like Bowood Farms.

I think they start at $150 + go up.

Is that too much?

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

