Martha + JCP, Update

martha JCP logo

SO, earlier this week I  blogged about J C Penneys’ mod, new makeover

 + gushed about their collaboration with Martha.

https://redbirdv.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/marthas-at-jcp/

martha - parade

Well, last night I saw one of their  TV commercials, + it was very odd.

It sounded downright apologetic!

It seems the buying public has not embraced the new JCP as I have!

Furthermore, they, J C Penneys (no longer JCP!),  has “listened”

(to the howls of protesting ex-shoppers, I presume)

+ will go back to their stodgy, former selves!

martha macy's

That’s right!

But wait.  There’s more!

Macys is suing Penneys + Martha!

Penneys has fired the new CEO responsible for the new look!

The humanity!

 I guess this concludes my Martha-at-Penneys coverage!

If anyone still cares, one can read more about it here:

http://www.nbcnews.com/business/j-c-penney-tries-woo-customers-back-apology-6C9720068

4 responses to “Martha + JCP, Update

  • James

    Kay, I Love Penny’s too, my Mother always called them Penny’s – so I will continue to as well. They have so much that I love (Levi’s, Calphalon, even Shiney Brite and Hammond’s Home-made candy canes at Christmas) Last month, Jamie/I loaded up on 19$ cashmere cardigans. We cried when American Living slowly faded away.
    I hope they survive all the dropping sales figures and endure….

  • cardinalkay64

    Hola
    OOH — Hammonds candy! I saw it at Cracker Barrel + loved their wrappers’ old-fashioned good looks! I wanted to sell them in MY retail space, when that was still happening. :-/

  • Kathy

    If I’m not mistaken, the brouhaha is over Penney’s no longer offering discounts or sales … instead offering a everyday lowest price. Personally, I’d rather have the everyday lowest price because I never seemed to need to shop JCP when the sales were running. I guess people think they’re getting ripped off if there’s not a sale? Perhaps the new JCP look will survive?

    • cardinalkay64

      Hola Kathy
      It’s like Kohl’s. People are so used to using codes + coupons to get great deals — if they’d take that away, there would be no thrill. Meanwhile, I get my thrills from cool advertising, celebrity tie-ins + such! I guess I don’t have my finger on the pulse of the American shopping public.
      K A Y

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix