Blue + White Garden Happiness

Our Dutch Colonial project is currently in this phase . . .

IMG_1251(1)

. . . which is more than a little ugly + not as morale-boosting

as some of our recent triumphs:

IMG_1175(1)

IMG_1125(1)

So to lift my spirits, I headed outside in our current yard,

photographing a few odds + ends that make me happy.

* * * * * *

Remember when the Mart of K

used to sell all that cool Martha gardening stuff?

This tub, in which my froggie fountain sits, is hers.

IMG_1286(1)IMG_1287(1)

Froggie’s happy gurgling sound makes me very happy.

IMG_1279(1)

Here’s one of the pink coneflowers that we transplanted.

In this heat, they were really wilting,

so I aimed the sprinkler at them.

The birdies were bathing later, + it was really great to see!

* * * * * *

Our new Adirondack chairs are pretty awesome . . .

IMG_1260(1)

I sewed those pillows,
using indoor-outdoor fabric.
I’m mad for navy blue polka dots.

. . . but I think I love all  my “old stuff” even more:

IMG_1271(1)

I found this old sprinkler at an antiques shop
in my hometown of Greenville, Illinois.
It still works!
My initial plan was to repurpose it into a lamp, but we never did.

IMG_1267(1)IMG_1263(1)

Hands down, though, my MOST-loved garden items

are those of the blue + white persuasion.

IMG_1269(1)

This year’s shade patio window boxes
are filled to the brim
with white caladiums
+ silvery-green licorice plants!

IMG_1278(1)

Both old AND white,
here’s my beloved copper roof spire,
atop our garage.

And now for the blue portion of our mini tour:

IMG_1280(1)IMG_1258(1)

Remember, as kids, when we thought gazing balls were so “granny”?

Not even!

Blue transferware mosaic  bird bath

Blue transfer ware mosaic bird bath
from Blumen Gardens in Sycamore, Illinois

And for my most favorite blue vignette,

I’ve been waiting all spring + summer to get this shot:

IMG_1275(1)

Both the blue thistles (or, as G.O. calls them, “weeds”)

+ those blue glass stars also came from my favorite garden center:

I posted about said-same here:

https://redbirdv.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/my-favorite-garden-center/

2 responses to “Blue + White Garden Happiness

  • staceyweichert

    Love all your garden treasures, I have an exact sprinkler, I have a little collection!
    Loving following along on your house transformation!
    We once bought “the ugliest house in town”–we were able to turn it into the nicest one on the block “neighbors quote–not mine! With elbow grease, real wood siding and stain you can do wonders! 🙂

    • cardinalkay64

      Stacey — we are kindred spirits when it comes to the house re-do. “The girls” (our dogs) + I enjoyed a long walk in our town the other morning, and I must’ve re-done 12’s of houses that we passed! Some of which were actually for sale! xo

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix