Chicago + Celebs, Mid-Century Modern Happiness

This past Friday I drove to Chicago for another fun outing

with  my friend, Alan.

For years, wherever we are,

our favorite thing to do is to ride around + look at houses.

Here I am, doing said-same with the guys from Steely Dan:

dan and kay in car

My favorite musical geniusi:
Donald Fagen + Walter Becker

Friday, we (Alan + I) drove past this famous guy’s house in Chicago:

rahm emanuel

Chicago’s mayor
Rahm Emanuel

Over the years, my Al-meister friendship has provided me

with glimpses of the (now former) residences

of a few other Chicago celebs, including these favorites:

nate berkusjoan cusackgene siskel

Nate Berkus, Joan Cusack, the late-great Gene Siskel

Just imagine if the two of us lived near L.A. or NYC.

It might look a something like this:

alec

I used to be in love with this guy
until he ditched me
for that much younger gal.

* * * *

But back to Friday’s outing.

We enjoyed a bit of shopping, as we always do.

I bought a couple of cool vintage treasures here:

Foursided  on Clark Street in Andersonville

Foursided
on Clark Street in Andersonville

four sided chicago -- windowfour sided chicago -- funny door signs

This cool shop carries a lot of Chicago merch,

+ my plans include sending them one of my Chicago pillows:

IMG_1383(1)

Fingers crossed they’ll approve of + want to sell said-same.

* * * * * *

But I’m digressing quite a bit again.  Back to Friday’s outing.

We shared some small plates at a Wicker Park restaurant/bar,

the name of which I don’t recall.

The food + vino were de-lish, but my highlight was our waiter.

(I don’t remember his name, either!)

Oopsie! Another bad photo!

Oopsie!
Another bad photo!

But how could I forget that he’s a St. Louis Cardinals fan?

Look!  He even retrieved his Cardinals cap to share with the class!

Go Cardinals!

* * * * * *

Now let’s have a look-see at Alan’s (+ his partner, Keith’s) mid-Century modern house:

I helped select the dark gray paint for the exterior.

I helped Alan select the dark gray paint for their exterior.

As typical of many mid-Century  modern house plans,

the street side/front of Alan + Keith’s house is quite private . . .

. . . . while inside, the living + dining rooms are oriented to the back yard.

Look at all the glass:

IMG_1374(1)

And now, let’s have a look-see at some of the boys’ groovy stuff:

Vintage medical cabinet

Vintage medical cabinet

IMG_1376(1)IMG_1377(1)

Alan’s Swiss cross artworks, displayed with a pair of vintage wooden clamps.

Genius!

I’ve given G.O. the heads up that I love this + that I’d like at least one for myself.

He’s already forgotten, but oh, well.

More grooviness:

IMG_1370(1)

IMG_1372(1)

People. This art gallery
is devoted to all things canine.

IMG_1373(1)

I’m seriously needing something similar
with something of the Dachshund persuasion.

IMG_1371(1)

There’s the ADOR-able Sophie the Papillion
in the boys’ TV room

Meanwhile, that signage is pretty radical, no?

But what say ye about the pennant pillows?

IMG_1364(1)IMG_1357(1)

Yes, I  made those from vintage pennants.

How could I not give them to Keith + Alan

as a “just-because” gift?

4 responses to “Chicago + Celebs, Mid-Century Modern Happiness

  • Dolores Larson

    I remember it was difficult to shop at Heart in Hand in Oregon when you and Alan were there at the same time. Couldn’t concentrate on shopping, as you two were so funny! Had you ever considered being a comedy team? Love the pennant pillows with their initials. Also the Chicago pillow!

    • cardinalkay64

      Dolores, Dolores, Dolores

      Here it is, @ 5:51 a.m., + your comment has already made my day! Affirmative on Alan’s + my wanting to be a comedy duo. I think we’d be perfect for radio, don’t you?

      TY
      Your pal,
      K A Y

  • James

    How have you Hid Alan and Keith’s home from me all this time????It’s glorious….The color is divine…just divine..and those white antlers on the front…OOOOHHH. The interior looks just as cool. Those wood ceilings! I saw a Nelson hanging lamp in there too. And don’t think I didn’t notice the grommeted curtains. Small Animal Hospital, even his crosses are way groovy.
    Please direct me to Alan’s blog…hehehe,

    Of course love your pennant pillows too…..

  • cardinalkay64

    Hey, sailor!

    I know — Alan + Keith’s house is beyond awesome, isn’t it? I’m not sure, but I might be prepared to commit a serious crime in order to own a mid-Century modern! Those snapshots were taken semi-hastily, just as I was preparing to leave. I need to return a.s.a.p. + do better.

    Your pal,
    K A Y

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix