FURNITURE FLIPPING FUN

The other day I found a cool blog about flipping furniture.

FURNITURE FLIPPIN’

Who knew?

http://www.furnitureflippin.com/

Here’s Stephanie, the blogger.

Isn’t she pretty?  And she’s funny, too!

furniture flippin stephanie

Turns out the particular post I read

featured ReFabulous Interiors —  the business of a gal that I know!

Her name is Becky, + she’s just as nice as she is pretty:

becky

Fun factoids:

1. Becky was a 7th grade art student of mine, the last year I taught!

2. Her mom, Dawn, used to shop in my old retail store,

the late, great Heart-in-Hand in Oregon, Illinois.

3. Dawn’s an avid Atlanta Braves fan,

+ her team + mine just might meet in the postseason this year!

Go Cardinals!

Go Cardinals!

* * * * *

Oh, dear.  I digress, majorly.

Shall we get back to Becky + ReFabulous Interiors?

Let’s see some of the magic she works on plain Jane furniture:

chair becky monster face

Before

chairs -- becky

After

Go have a look-see at Becky’s website:

http://www.refabulousinteriors.com/

* * * *

Anyway, all these groovy projects had me feeling nostalgic

about all the chairs that I used to flip!

One of my favorites! Painted a pretty neutral color Upholstered with canvas on which I stenciled a Frenchie stripe

One of my favorites!
Painted a pretty neutral color,
upholstered with canvas on to which I stenciled a Frenchie stripe

Here’s the chair that started my chair flipping “career”:

chair -- original greens

I loved the patina of the old, green paint!

Actually, this was one of a set of 4 dark green, metal folding chairs

that I found in an antiques shop in my hometown.

Those 4 chairs turned into my first numbered series —

+ our (meaning: G.O.’s) first attempt at upholstering with my stenciled fabric!

IMG_1395(1)

Poor G.O. — I have to find another photo op!

He’s actually very talented at upholstery!

* * * * *

Here are some of our other upholstered chair flips:

Frenchie café chair with Frenchie striped upholstery. This was during our upholstery tack era.

Frenchie café chair
with Frenchie striped upholstery.
This was done
during our upholstery tack era.

Woven Frenchie stripes this time,  with yet more upholstery tacks.

Woven Frenchie stripes this time,
on some wonderful vintage fabric,
with yet more upholstery tacks.

Still in our Frenchie phase. I love this chair's simple ladderback design!

Still in our Frenchie phase.
I love this chair’s simple ladderback design
+ warm wood tones!

What a cute footstool, with more of my stenciled fabric!

What a cute footstool,
with more of my stenciled fabric!

Now we’ve left France + are headed into Industrial Land:

Loved this industrial stool with its Swiss Army blanket upholstery + Swiss cross!

Loved this stool
with its Swiss Army blanket upholstery
+ Swiss cross!

Another rolling stool, this time with a red + white cross + a Frenchie dish towel slipcover!

Another industrial stool,
this time with a red + white cross
+ an awesome vintage dish towel slipcover!

I am such a fan of slipcovering old chairs.

Here are some of my favorite flips, featuring slips!

Tan ticking stripe cotton chair pad + trimming the canvas slipcover.

Tan ticking stripe cotton chair pad
+ trim on the cute canvas slipcover.

I love the vintage floral fabric  used on this child's rocker!

I love the vintage floral fabric
that I used on this child’s rocker!

How sassy are these stadium seats? I used genuine Army tent fabric + vintage buttons!

How sassy are these stadium seats?
I used genuine Army tent fabric, blue ticking stripe cotton
+ vintage buttons!

Well, that was fun!

I still have some chairs in storage,

awaiting their makeovers, including one just like this:

chair -- folding wood with blue striped pad

Thanks for viewing all my projects-from-the-past,

+ stay tuned to see if I’ve been inspired

to get back to chair flipping!

One response to “FURNITURE FLIPPING FUN

  • Stephanie

    I am so glad you couldn’t see me as I read this blog post. My mouth hung open (and is still open) gaping at those GORGEOUS FURNITURE FLIPS!!! My mind was quickly running an inventory through the chairs I have waiting to be done, wondering is there any out there I can do like these??? I’m going to repeat myself – GORGEOUS!!!!!!! Unbelievably GORGEOUS.

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

