Less-Is-More Christmas Decor

My motto for Christmas décor always used to be:

the more, the merrier!

Not so much now.

While I still super love Christmas,

I’ve scaled way back in recent years.

Instead of a houseful of yuletide happiness,

we’re now down to this tiny tree

on our enclosed front porch:

IMG_2420(1)

IMG_2431(1)

I bought the tree years ago at the old Eddie Bauer Home store.

Remember those?

They had everything my then-country-bumpkin heart desired!

At one time, my little Eddie Bauer tree was one of 3 or 4 trees

I’d have up + running throughout the house.

Our kitchen would often get its own tree

decorated with old tin cookie cutters, like this one:

eBay

eBay

Or this:

cookie cutter heart in hand

eBay

Since the business I owned in the 80’s + 90’s

 was called Heart-in-Hand,

I collected cookie cutters with that motif.

See?  Here’s my logo:

heart in hand signage

My hand-stenciled store sign (1988)
+ my framed business cards.

Here’s the front of the building I bought

for my retail store (+ later, our home, upstairs):

heart in hand

My retail store,
Christmas 1993

* * *

But back to this year.

Our tiny Eddie Bauer tree looks great

inside this old wooden box that I just bought:

IMG_2421(1).

Don’t you love it?

I bought it at our town’s French Hens Holiday Market in November;

I blogged about it here:

https://redbirdv.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/only-2-days-until-our-christmas-cabin/

It came from Jeanine Burkhardt of (very quaint) Cedarburg, WI,

whose cool blog is a MUST-READ:

www.chippyshabby.blogspot.com!

If you live in the Midwest, you’ve got to catch her booth

at one of her many shows.

* * * *

But once again, back to my Christmas:

I kept the rest pretty simple,

sticking to a red + gold color scheme, which I love:

IMG_2432(1)

Those primitive mustard stars

+ that red, wooden bead garland

are both relics from my country bumpkin era.

Then I added some fairly plain Jane red + gold balls

+ forced myself to stop.

IMG_2431(1)

A few other country bumpkin favorites

also made the cut this year:

IMG_2423(1)

IMG_2424(1)

My friend, Alan, gave me that sled years ago,

our neighbor, Scott, gave me the old water cooler,

+ our birch tree surrendered a few branches this year

‘for the cause’.

Oh, here’s my Pottery Barn Santa pillow,

out on the front porch, as well:

IMG_2426(1)

And, finally, just outside the front porch:

IMG_2442(1)

Does that vest make me look ‘fat’?

Here are G.O. + me,

with just a few other yuletide accents,

like my favorite electric candles in each window.

* * *

Disclaimer:

while I have gone way less-is-more at Christmas,

what little decorating I did do made me as happy as a school girl!

Hope you’re feeling the same way!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

One response to “Less-Is-More Christmas Decor

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix