Do I Need A Red EXIT Arrow?

Today I finally renewed a bunch of magazine subscriptions

+ ordered a pair of these Frenchie striped shades from Pottery Barn:

pottery barn red striped lampshades

I then spied this repro signage on Facebook

+ immediately thought: I NEED THAT!

I have the perfect spot for it in our Dutch colonial’s kitchen —

just to the right of our back door!

* * * *

BUT WAIT!  I have a few questions before I order.

1. Is less really more?

2.  Am I merely on a spending high?

3. Will this item’s faux “aged-ness” end up mocking me?

* * * *

Oh, dear.  So many worries.

Let’s back up a tad + discuss the reasons why I need it.

REASON #1:

I ALREADY COLLECT RED + WHITE SIGNAGE.

IMG_2746(1)

Most of the signs that I have are genuinely old,

as I tend to dislike anything that’s obviously faux.

My friend, Tal, gave me this for my birthday one year.

My friend, Tal, gave me this for my birthday one year.

IMG_2748(1)

I’m elderly+ suffer from CRS so I can’t recall where I got this.

Last but not least — just outside our powder room

hangs this fab, 2-sided LADIES sign:

IMG_2760(1)

I bought this at a favorite local shop:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ruby-Begonias

* * * * *

SO . . . you are starting to see why I need the sign, no?

Here ’tis again:

exit signage -- dotandbo

This brings us to REASON #2 why I need it:

I AM AN ARROW ENTHUSIAST.

Look at these!

IMG_2756(1)

Sorry for the yellow.

IMG_2749(1)

This is a vintage weathervane arrow;

it used to spin atop one of our fence posts before coming inside.

I recently traced said-same + made my own stencil,

as I decided it was time I jumped aboard the arrow-in-home-décor bandwagon.

IMG_2662(1)

S O L D

* * * *

But I digress, as is my way.

Here’s yet another weathervane arrow:

IMG_2751(1)

It’s my favorite because of the old red paint.  Love old red paint.

* * * *

Now, then — when I bought this next arrow, I broke my “no faux” rule.

I saw the artisan who made it at the Market Square wholesale show

in Valley Forge, PA + bought it from her.

IMG_2750(1)

Sorry for the yellow.

Wish I could remember her or her biz name,

but I do recall that her arrows were sold

in the fabulous Sundance catalog at one time!

Winning!

* * * *

And finally, REASON #3 why I need the exit arrow:

I ALREADY HAVE ONE EXIT SIGN.

IMG_2758(1)

Speaking of winning . . .

 G.O. has already hard-wired a box

on the ceiling of our Dutch colonial kitchen, by the back door,

+ we’ll be taking my EXIT signage when we move!

* * * *

So what do you think?  Should I order the EXIT arrow?

exit signage -- dotandbo

Stay tuned!

9 responses to “Do I Need A Red EXIT Arrow?

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

