Vintage Accesories For The Powder Room

So.  Today we re-measured the kitchen for cabs.

Yay.

This means that I shall spend the rest of the day sketching.

But first, let’s go back to our powder room.

IMG_5264(1)

My goal for it is that the room looks old,

as if it was original to our Dutch colonial.

IMG_5082(1)

I think my design looks old enough,

but I need to be choosy about the remaining accessories.

First up, the mirror.

Here’s one from Pottery Barn that I like.

It’s the Kensington Pivot Rectangular mirror @ $179.

mirror o' bath -- pottery barn kennsington

It does look somewhat vintage,

but we’re opting for this, instead:

IMG_5310(1)

It came with a garage sale dresser for which we paid a mere $75.

Look at the beautiful natural wood grain:

IMG_5311(1)

So.  It not only looks more vintage than the PB one,

it’s a lot less expensive.

I like that.

Now let’s move to the shelf portion of my powder room design.

Once again, from Pottery Barn — their Sussex shelf.

$47 – $55 on sale, with free shipping.

shelf -- pottery barn sussex glass shelf

While it would  look perfectly lovely,

I preferred something genuinely old.

Off to etsy, where I always have good luck!

Here’s what I chose:

shelf for powder room

https://www.etsy.com/shop/LititzCarriageHouse?ref=l2-about-shopname

With shipping, I paid a mere $33.

G.O. kindly held it in place for me this a.m.

IMG_5308(1)

Does he like it?  Well, no, but I have faith that he will, eventually,

once the room is all tricked out + finished.

* * *

Let’s have a look-see at yet another vintage bathroom necessity

that I found (on etsy, again!) months ago.

It’s a darling, old porcelain towel bar.

Here ’tis, held in place on the side of our vanity:

IMG_5305(1)

OR, we might opt for hanging it on the wall, to the left of the vanity.

IMG_5307(1)

The only accessory that remains is the over-the-sink light fixture.

You  probably won’t be surprised

that I’ve got something vintage planned there, as well.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

