Farmhouse Sink + A Tile Snafu

Our IKEA farmhouse sink is finally in, over at the Dutch colonial!

See for yourself:

DSC07060

IKEA

DSC07061

While I like that sink + (a little bit less) that faucet,

I love my choice of back splash tile!

They are 3″ x 6″ subways with a crackled gray glaze.

Home Depot, online.

DSC07053

DSC06309

Martha Stewart paintable bead board wallpaper from Home Depot

DSC06624

Perfection — the way they complement all my design choices!

But wait.

DSC06635

There’s a problem with the size of my tiles

as they relate to the size available for our back splash.

We would end up with a row of tile slivers, to fit the space,

and nobody wants that.

ON TO PLAN B!

Tpunt

My mind immediately raced to the oh-so-cute penny rounds.

Exhibit A:

tile penny round home depot

Home Depot

In addition to their being super charming,

they are very vintage style, which is just the ticket!

After a somewhat lengthy online search last night,

I found them in the color I desire — gray!

tile -- penny round granite blend gloss

Galaxy gray penny rounds Source unknown

tile penny round marble -- sarah richardson

Marble mosaic penny rounds Sarah Richardson

Beautiful, ’tis true, but I fear they’re too busy for our kitchen.

They’d clash with our semi-busy counter tops:

DSC06634

DSC06631

So.  After yet more online searching,

I finally found penny rounds in a solid gray!

tile -- penny round gray lowe's

Lowe’s online

But wait.

IMG_4840(1)

Our grandlad G.O. immediately nixed the idea,

as he claimed small mosaic tiles like that are very difficult to install.

So is it on to Plan C?

Or will I get my penny rounds?

Stay tuned!

9 responses to “Farmhouse Sink + A Tile Snafu

  • Kathy

    Don’t they come on webbed sheets aka glass tiles?

    • Kathy

      Ala not aka. Darned autocorrect. Ha!

      • Kathy

        And I didn’t think the combo tiles would be too busy. That’s quite the role reversal. Usually I’m the one choosing the more “sedate” options. Ha!

      • cardinalkay64

        Yes, re: the mesh on the backs of the tiles.
        Generally, the mesh square is in the 12″ ballpark.
        Oh, I may have changed my mind already, to white pennies with dark gray grout.
        More classic + timeless than the gray.

  • staceyweichert

    Kay, I’m following this closely!!! As my Ikea sink sits at my feet here!
    We are so on the same design table. Except my cabinets are not white…
    I have those same gray subway tiles in boxes here too!
    It’s all looking just beautiful!
    Stacey

    • cardinalkay64

      You mean you’re getting the very same watercolor-esque, crackled glaze gray tiles? Did you get yours from Home Depot, too? My friend, Alan, got something similar for his bathroom re-do, + he said that he paid WAY too much, that he loves our choice. Anyway, as I said earlier (above), I’ve changed my mind to white penny rounds with dark gray grout. Who knows what I’ll change it to, later today!

  • Barbara H.

    Hmm, what a dilemma. Can you use the original tile, which I also love, and make up the space with trim, either tile or wood?

    • cardinalkay64

      Hi Barbara! Coincidentally, we just went tile shopping yesterday. I know that G.O. really didn’t want to use those pesky pennies, no matter how much I love them! Any-hoo, he tells me that he can take off the window trim + make another in the appropriate size for our gray crackle tiles! I’m like, “Okay, then!” — + dashed out the tile store door! 😉 He claims he told me this, but I don’t recall! Anyway, we’re getting those awesome tiles! He ordered them from Home Depot last p.m.!

    • cardinalkay64

      G.O. cut the woodwork to fit the tiles. I will try to get a snapshot of that!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

