TOE KICK MUSINGS

Different day — same topic.

How can I make our Dutch colonial kitchen look more original??!!

DSC07080

DSC07052

So far, my instant age ideas include our cabinet hardware.

Red glass!

DSC06658

Some reclaimed lumber in a beam + possibly a range hood:

beams

range hood o' lumber fixer upper

Possible vintage fabric curtains for windows + sink:

DSC07018

And now for my latest, greatest instant age idea!

Tricking out the toe kick!

range hood design something

Check it out — they, too, have a blue ceiling in their kitchen!

You see, it’s all about making one’s lower cabinets look like furniture.

Faux legs, like on a dresser!

toe kick

range hood lettered cottage with deer heads

The Lettered Cottage blog

Or we could include what I’m calling a solid kick.

This is definitely a ‘thing’ now.

All my beloved British home magazines have kitchen toe kicks like this:

kitchen -- cab with no toe kick

I couldn’t love this kitchen more, but I can’t find the source. If anyone can give me the heads up, I’d be glad!

And for our last but not least toe kick eye candy,

this kitchen has both the furniture legs + the solid toe kick!

toe kick -- b h g

Better Homes and Gardens

OMiGosh!  I’m not sure I could love a kitchen more!

Note to self: find a vintage or vintage-repro rug, stat!

Here’s a contender; it’s indoor/outdoor, believe it or not!

rug -- cross stitch outdoor -- overstock

Called the Cross Stitch outdoor rug from Overstock.com

I love that it looks like a modern log cabin quilt!

But, once again, I digress.

 Back to my new toe kick obsession.

Poor G.O. is not yet hip to this latest design idea.

surprised boy

 I hope to share all these photos with him later today.

Stay tuned, everybody (+ keep your fingers crossed, too!)

6 responses to “TOE KICK MUSINGS

  • Barbara H.

    I’m anxious to see what you do with the toe kicks. I have a kitchen from the late ’50s and have been wanting to do something with the toe kick area but haven’t gotten any farther than that. I’m so happy that you will be able to use the tile that you first loved – Anxious to see that, too.

  • nancy

    I like it when the toe kicks are linked to a section of cabinets to make them look more like a built in China cabinet, or a piece of separate furniture.

    • cardinalkay64

      Hi Nancy! I, too, am a fan of the faux furniture in one’s kitchen cabs. I like it when the side panel of the upper goes all the way to the base’s countertop. I’m sure you know what I mean. There is one specific kitchen online with a great example of this. I hope to find + ‘share’ it soon! Fun!

  • Old Pearly Jenkins

    Those red handles are gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

