Hardscaping Hopes + Dreams

As we were out + about last week,

I asked G.O. if we could stop at a huge place that sells hardscaping materials.

Is that a word?  Hardscaping?

Anyway, I just hope that we can buy some of said-same this year,

as our back yard is currently a muddy  mess!

My plans include this:

DSC07160

Rotten granite, also known (on HGTV) as decomposed granite.

It’s very French, isn’t it?

Crunch crunch underfoot!

My plans include enlarging our driveway + stuff.

Here is a huge pile of it, with our beloved Dory:

DSC07162

Rotten granite will cost us $89 per truck load.

That doesn’t sound so bad, does it?

I also found the bricks that I must have for our front sidewalk:

DSC07163

Looks like genuine old brick like no other product I’ve seen!

Here we have a sample walkway, laid in a basket weave design:

DSC07167

Nice but nope.  I prefer, instead, the herringbone pattern:

DSC07161

Now we’re getting warmer!

DSC07168

And finally, perfection!

Herring bone pattern with soldier course bricks for the border

+ Chloe the Dachshund:

DSC07171

I’ve waited so long + so patiently

for all this outdoor happiness at the Dutch colonial.

Guess we’ll all stay tuned!

2 responses to “Hardscaping Hopes + Dreams

  • Nancy

    I have hardscaping envy. Where are you?? I think I need some of that rorren granite too!

  • cardinalkay64

    Nancy, that hardscaping place is in Yorkville, Illinois — which is S.W. of Chicago. I first saw this material in action at Blumen Gardens in Sycamore (straight west of Chicago). They used it for their paths in their garden center. Seems to me that the 1st time we looked, there were 2 different colors of the granite. This last time, it was that rust color. ? ? ? Good luck with your quest!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

