Living Room Woodwork + Paint

Long time no blog!

Our summer project has been restoring the Dutch colonial’s original woodwork.

DSC07649

The minute all the living room’s woodwork was up + running,

 I insisted that we paint!

As you can see, the ceiling is the palest of blues,

+ the picture/crown molding is white.

After some debate, our walls are Flagstone gray by Pittsburgh Paint.

DSC07640

Initially, I wanted to go fairly dark + dramatic.

However, I settled on a medium dark,

because I thought it would work better with all my “stuff”.

  • * * *

Let’s have a look-see at some of it, shall we?

First up, my awesome vintage sorter will be the room’s focal point:

sorter

That thing rules, doesn’t it?

One of my former art students/friend found it for me,

+ I paid a mere $50 for it in the early 90’s!

It was perfect for my late, great retail store, Heart-in-Hand!

  • * * *

Update to now — I cannot wait to get that thing in place

+ start filling it with my books + things!

Here’s the wall where we’ll place it:

DSC07644

  • Opposite from that wall is the front door:

DSC07642

It+ all the other interior doors are going to be a very dark gray,

which looks like black.

Next, this angled wall is where we’ll have our television:

DSC07643

The jury’s still out

(which is just a fancy way of saying I can’t make up my mind),

but we might use our bow-front pine dresser for the TV:

DSC07661

I have plans to try + “hide” the TV with a gallery wall,

like this one from Pottery Barn:

gray dark tv and artwork pottery barn

Finally, here is our living room’s south-facing window bay:

DSC07639

DSC07647

Our existing navy couch will fit nicely there.

Oh, + that rug has obviously made the trip from our current home, too.

We’ll discuss all this later, so stay tuned!

One response to “Living Room Woodwork + Paint

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix