Window Sash Musings

So.

First thing yesterday a.m., as we often do, the dogs + we went for a short hike.

Here are the girls, en route:

DSC07605

Chloe, at left, + Dory in the back of “Daddy’s” Ranchero.

On the way home, we had a little cruise around town,

which is just another way of saying

 Kay’s looking at + passing judgement on houses.

 Yesterday’s cruise was especially exciting for me.

Check this out:

DSC07873

So, they pretty much had me at that siding + all that trim work.

But what is so over-the-top awesome that I would be so enthusiastic?  you ask?

Here’s a hint: the black window sashes:

DSC07872

People.  I shan’t lie — I am obsessed with colored window sashes.

Back at home, I headed to Pinterest, to search for more

because I wanted to blog + share with the class:

sashes black with teal siding

the36thavenue.com

It’s like eyeliner for a house!

That works indoors, well.

window sashes red

BH + G

YUMM-O!

window sashes black inside bathroom bh+g

BH + G

window sashes green house bhg

window sashes -- grey house with black

urban cottage blog

Black isn’t the only window sash color that I love.

Here we have maybe my favorite:

window sashed -- red

BH + G

OMiGosh!  RED RULES, does it not?

In case you’re not on board, here’s more!

I blogged about this:

 https://redbirdv.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/designer-karin-blake/

karin blake's malibu kitchen with red sashes #1

Designer Karin Blake’s Malibu home

If I am so obsessed,

you are probably asking if we, too, have colored sashes at the Dutch colonial.

IMG_3970(1)

Oops.  No.

Sadly, the black or the red versions of our windows were over our budget.

IMG_4432(1)

We really love them, though.

They’re vinyls from Andersen, + I blogged about them, here:

https://redbirdv.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/windows-siding-foundation-musings/

DSC05759

That sash, while vinyl, sits on the outside of the windowpanes,

which gives it the illusion of being original to our house.

IMG_3970(1)

So.  I really want to know.

Do you love to cruise around + admire/dislike houses in your town?

What’s the best one you’ve seen this summer?

5 responses to “Window Sash Musings

  • Pat

    I love the colored sashes also and yes, I love to ride around and check out my faves. That new house you showed is great. I’ve been watching the progress and it’s so nice to see a new house built to fit the neighborhood, instead of a modern looking one crammed in that just doesn’t look right.

    • cardinalkay64

      The back yard is on a slight downward incline from the alley, + there are some fairly large boulders there. I’m assuming that they are for the new landscaping, which should be awesome. Gosh, I hope they won’t get a restraining order for me! 🙂

  • nancy

    Yep, for as long as I can remember. I used to beg my mom to drive by some older homes in our town so I could look at them. And while walking my dog i would have certain routes depending on what houses I wanted to look at. If they went up for sale and had an open house, that meant a Sunday viewing to complete my nosiness. And to the original quedtion, I love the colored windows.

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

