My Groovy Postal Sorter’s Groovy Re-Do

After spending countless hours on Pinterest,

swooning at, among other things, 12’s of epic shelf stylings . . .

DSC09154

. . . I decided it was the perfect moment to re-do my old postal sorter.

Okay, so  maybe the moment wasn’t perfect,

as you can see, the sun was definitely not shining.

Oops!

Let’s continue anyway, shall we?

Here’s my pair of vintage corbels that I bought last summer:

DSC09155

I considered adding my pair of black urns, but I stopped myself.

 Is less really more?

While we ponder that cosmic query, here are more groovies:

DSC09156

I tried to keep the the theme “old” + “white”.

HA!  Like me!  Old + white!

Okay.

Let’s see how I did.

Look at this silhouette that I made.

That’s our grandson + a photo frame from Pottery Barn!

DSC09157

Next we have a framed photo of my family,

snapped on the porch of our grandparents’ house,

way back in the summer of ’60.

I am on the bottom step, at left, with my sister Kathy holding Lisa.

DSC09159

I’ve chosen to display a couple of snowmen in a salt cellar,

with epsom salt filling in for snow.

DSC09160

You can’t tell, but the white snowman is actually a window scraper.

Our dad owned a Standard Oil gas station in the 50’s,

+ I s’poze this was a give-a-way to his best customers.

I’ll have to take another photo to share with the class.

Meanwhile, here’s my favorite of all my glass containers:

DSC09161

It’s a wonderfully heavy canister from Pottery Barn.

Since I love baseball so much, I’ve filled it with old baseballs.

I love that slender beaker because it’s glass + red — 2 things I love!

This vintage wooden tray (below) formerly displayed smalls in my old booth:

DSC09162

These days it displays my Kay redware plate (Workshop of David T. Smith),

my most precious photo of my sons,

+ a GOOD plate from Diane Keaton’s old collection at Bed, Bath + Beyond.

Quick query:

Does that penny rug runner scream “Granny Chic” or just plain granny?

While we ponder that question, let’s view this bowl,

one of my favorites:

DSC09168

Isn’t it wonderful?

It’s Fioriware, from Zanesville, Ohio,

from their “Gingham” collection.

Okay.

 In addition to displaying a whole lot o’ my stuff . . .

DSC09154

. . . my postal sorter also serves as our home office.

That explains the printer (at lower left),

+ this wonderful Dachshund tape dispenser!

DSC09169

How cute!

It was given to me by my niece + her awesome 4 children!

Here’s my sister, Kathy (a.k.a. Nana) with one of her grands:

Kathy and Tressa @ swim meet

No fair!  She looks like she’s 20!

Thanks for viewing; as always, it means a lot.

4 responses to “My Groovy Postal Sorter’s Groovy Re-Do

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

