Who Knew? Black Staircases!

So.  During last night’s football game,

I happily surfed Pinterest for hours,

stopping only to watch TV during the commercials.

Did you do the same?

couch eating on

I was on the hunt to find photos of black staircases.

As crazy as that might sound, there were 12’s of them!

Exhibit A:

gray stairs with boy

This all black plus natural wood rules my little world!

  I had a light bulb moment about black stairs yesterday,

not long after I blogged about the new staircase in the latest Fixer Upper episode.

Here ’tis, in all its before + after glory:

fixer upper stairs from upstairs

Wouldn’t the X’s be more attractive

if they were smaller instead of all squooshed out?

Plus, that style, while cool, is ultra trendy

+ is going to look dated sooner than one might think, I fear.

fixer upper x staircase 2

Let’s be real — those railings probably cost a small fortune,

not to mention their perfectly good staircase ending up in a landfill!

Wasn’t there some way to ramp up the style of the existing granny chic stairs?

Exhibit B:

:gray steps with wood whatever remodelista

More of the natural wood tones, this time with white baseboards.

Plus that herringbone wood floor is so beautiful!

Exhibit C:

gray staircase simply grove

Here we have everything painted dark gray,

which works, in my opinion, because of the natural wood steps.

Oh, + look at that light fixture.

Black + antique brass = stunning!

Exhibit D:

gray stairs turnstiledecor

Again, with the gray — and lots of it,

looking fantastic with the natural wood steps.

Exhibit E:

gray steps remodelista

Hey, how crazy is the door’s being painted out like the wainscoting?

Frankly, I’m on the fence.

Check out the brass, though!  Winning!

Exhibit F:

gray stairs paper scissorsorange

More amazing black wainscoting,

+ what are our thoughts about the stair runners?

I vote yes!

Exhibit G:

gray stairs decorush

More wonderful wainscoting, but look — they’ve painted the risers white.

Exhibit H:

Donna Dotan Photography Inc.

Donna Dotan Photography Inc.

Here the spindles + baseboards are left white.

Aren’t you crushing on that gallery wall + their picture light fixtures?

Exhibit I:

gray stairs my domaine

Exhibit H:

gray black stairs desire to inspire

How Goth!

But I “keed”.  I think it’s amazing!

Exhibit I:

gray stairs roger hazard lonny mag

 Yes, that’s Roger Hazard of A+E’s Flip This House fame.

He + his husband, Chris, live in Sharon Springs, NY —

the same town as the Beekman Boys!

 It’s really no surprise that they painted their staircase dark gray;

look at the exterior of their dark gray house!

black house of roger hazard two

black house of roger hazard

Now, where were we, alphabet-wise, for our photos?

I dunno, but look.  These are the last 2, I promise!

And they are of the staircase of our own Dutch colonial!

DSC09181

DSC09182

Stay tuned for what we will do with it!

 

 

6 responses to “Who Knew? Black Staircases!

  • Nancy

    Hmmmmm,what will you do??? I’m betting something is going to be painted a dark gray or near black. Beauiful woodwork btw.

    • cardinalkay64

      Yes, the woodwork on those stairs is magnificent! As was all the woodwork downstairs — all of which G.O. stripped + stained. That was such a big job! I really don’t know if he’d want to go through all that on a staircase.

  • Dolores

    Guess I have no imagination or flair, because I like your staircase just the way it is. Also, I don’t like the wild stair risers that you asked about. I’m sure I’d get dizzy and fall flat on my face after my ‘nightly wine.’ I DO like natural wood with black. I painted the legs black of our dining room table and left the top of the table natural.

  • Meg | Hello Farmhouse

    I always, always prefer stain on original woodwork but there’s just nothing like the beauty of old wood. But with that said, I love the drama of the black and prefer it over standard white!

    • cardinalkay64

      I agree! G.O. painstakingly stripped + re-did all the original woodwork downstairs here. It is beautiful! The staircase would be equally wonderful, but the work! I can’t say what will happen, because it’s going to be up to him. He’s such a perfectionist, but we’re not getting any younger. 😉

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix