Mama’s Got A Brand New Rug

Last Christmas, my sister Lisa gave me a Pottery Barn gift certificate.

After much pondering, I finally chose this cool rug:

DSC09637

Who doesn’t love navy blue ticking stripes?

As a reminder of days gone by, let’s look back at my old, much loved kilim rug:

I loved it because it had all the “Kay colors” of blue, red + buttery tan.

I bought it way, way back in 2007, so I was ready for a change.

Meanwhile, this cute little rolling table is also new:

DSC09637

I bought it for my biz, RedBird Vintage Home, 

to resell at one of my upcoming spring markets.

Who knew?  It would look so great in our living room!

Check out the way the white bead board top echoes the white stripes.

So.  I may or may not sell it.  We’ll see!

DSC09640

I love how you can tell that it has been made from parts of other furniture.

The white top + apron have the best chippy patina,

while the graceful, natural wood legs surely came from something fancier.

DSC09638

And the wheels!  I’ll buy anything with wheels!

In fact, our living room has not 1 but 2 typewriter tables,

which, as you know, have wheels.

DSC09645

Sorry about the naughty photo, but it’s  been so dark + dreary here.

Anyway, I bought a sample 12″ square marble tile for the top,

yet more white in the room.

DSC09644

Now, then.  This concludes the tour of all wheeled items in our living room,

but before I go, may I show you some other newcomers to our living room?

Golf trophies!

DSC09648

My dad won those, + when we were visiting last month, he said I could have them!

I’m not sure how sentimental he is about his “major awards”,

but I promised him I wouldn’t sell them.

How could I?

DSC09637

But stay tuned for whether or not I sell my little table!

I have a market this coming Saturday.

 

2 responses to “Mama’s Got A Brand New Rug

  • staceyweichert

    Love it, and now I’m regretting even more leaving the navy table cloth at Williams and Sonoma yesterday. I’m working on bringing navy and indigo back into my life….it’s been missing for about 25 years.
    Your home is looking–perfect!

    • cardinalkay64

      Who’s nicer than you? I have always loved dark blue — that couch has to be 15 years old or more. My most recent color crush would be of the pale blue/green persuasion. Oh, + yellow. I can’t wait to add these to our decor! 😉

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

