My Old Store + Home Above It

In my last 2 blog posts, I’ve mused about having another retail store.

I say another because I did have one (in another lifetime!)

It was called Heart-In-Hand.

heart in hand front in snow

My first shop space was in a mall, but within 3 years,

I had the means to actually buy a building downtown.

How brave I was!

A few years after that, I decided to build an apartment upstairs.

This  “before” photo must have been taken on demo day:

heart in hand apartment disheveled

The “after” is the epitome of 90’s country style.

Oh, how I loved it (at the time!)

Look at my stencil border at the ceiling line!

heart in hand apartment tv armoire

My only real splurge was this gas fireplace,

enjoyed by my sons + our late, great Dachshund, Susie.

heart in hand upstairs fireplace with boys and susie

I bought that bench at an auction when I was only 18 years old.

Here’s another blast from the past.

I kind of wish that I had that pencil post bed back.

heart in hand bedroom

Honestly, I cannot imagine having another store,

no matter how many bouts of “retail fever” I may experience.

4 responses to “My Old Store + Home Above It

  • Nancy

    Your apt looks quite charming. For the 90’s. 🙂 I had similar decor, folk style border, etc. I loved it too, at the time. On another subject, I saw a pic in Country Living mag in regards to your she shed. She pleated burlap for a skirt on a potting bench. Made me think of your saw horse bench.

  • Dolores

    I loved your store in Oregon! I imagined your upstairs home to be just like these pictures. I remember you using the words ‘country bumpkin’ whenever you thought something was too ‘cute and too country’. Thanks for taking me back to my younger life!

    • cardinalkay64

      Nancy, I must tell you that I went to my she said, first thing this a.m. I don’t know if it still IS a she shed, as 3/4 of it stores my projects for markets. Here I thought I’d have room for a couple of chairs! HA! Anyway, I promise to snap some photos soon.

    • cardinalkay64

      Dolores, did I ever tell you about the time that the new owners of that building had me over for a tour of our apartment? This must’ve been 4 or 5 years ago. All the woodwork + the kitchen cabs were repainted gray. New carpet, no more wallpaper, but that old Maytag stackable washer + dryer was still in its custom made spot in my bathroom!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

