Plates On The Wall + How I Overcame My Fear Of Granny Decor

Let’s recap my hopes + dreams for our living room walls.

Imagine, if you will, that this ladder has gone away:

dsc00449

Bye bye, ladder!

But now what?

Well, let’s envision our TV’s  “going away”, too.

Making a long story (slightly) shorter — we could do this:

gallery-wall-with-tv-3

Pottery Barn!

gallery-wall-with-tv-4

Enter a caption

Nope.  Too scared of all those nails.  So I/we did this, instead:

dsc00472

That’s great, but wait.

What about this empty + sad space?

Plates on our wall?  Yes, please!

And even better, these plates are on a TV wall!

plates-on-living-room-wall-part-2

While I have some white ironstone platters,

I also love blue + white plates.

Notice how they’re hung in a symmetrical (traditional) layout.

plate-wall-with-lots-of-blue-with-gingham-tiers-curioussofa

More traditional + symmetrical happiness:

plate-wall-traditional

LOVE IT!

But how on earth do I do this?  Where should I start?

No problem — here’s a tutorial to help make it less intimidating:

plate-wall-paper-and-tape-homestoriesatoze

But wait.  Needle scratch.

This is all fun, but here’s the thing:

 Everybody knows that plates on a wall are hopelessly granny.

surprised boy

Um, yes, I am a granny, but I don’t want my decor to be granny!

What should I do?

Um, maybe hang my plates in a non-traditional manner?

plate-wall-dark-gray-panelled-wall-with-blue-white-plates

 Look at this!

plate-on-wall-modern

decorfacil.com

I’m pretty sure these are decoupaged plates by John Derian.

plate-wall-john-derian

mysweetsavannah.blogspot

Here’s John Derian now, in what looks like his NYC work room:

john-derian-in-his-shop

http://www.johnderian.com/pages/browse-by-shape

But let’s get back to my plate hopes + dreams.

Would layering them be out of my comfort zone?

plate-wall-in-yellow

pinkstreetdesign

How about turning a corner with them?

plate-on-wall-around-the-corner

viewalongtheway.com

Okay.  Wait a minue.

Somebody needs to calm down, ’cause this just got crazy.

Does this mean I am still hopelessly indecisive?

Stay tuned — come back tomorrow.

 

4 responses to “Plates On The Wall + How I Overcame My Fear Of Granny Decor

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix