Our Postal Sorter Gets A Fun “Re-Do”

So.

Last spring, I thought I’d combine a home office with our dining room.

 I was inspired by this room in designer Allison Kandler’s California home:

alison-kandler-office-family-room-from-abovet

Isn’t it great?  Those built-ins are so awesome!

Instead of $$ built-ins at our house,

my plans involved my beloved 1920’s postal sorter.

Here it is, serving as our entertainment center in our old house:

postal sorter

Sadly, the office thing never really clicked,

which I guess explains why there are no photos.

Every time I looked at it was a drag, so finally, I opted to re-do.

(Don’t you LOVE the re-do?)

Yes, I spent all day + was semi-deliriously happy to do so!

I just shopped the house + added a lot of kitchen stuff.

dsc00617

A few of my favorite cookbooks with Hoosier glass canisters:

dsc00619

Just for fun, I added pretty pumpkins from our porch.

I think this space needs an autumnal branch in a vase, too.  Later today?

dsc00639

I’ve opted to display my vintage platters in stacks.

They’ve been patiently waiting to be hung on a wall,

’cause I love that sort of thing but can’t commit yet.

Next, I opted to display a collection of glass items up on top.

Who knew? — I had so much of it?

dsc00624

How beautiful it will all be, after I’ve shoved holiday greenery among the sparkly glass!

Meanwhile, here are a few close ups:

dsc00633

dsc00629

dsc00631

dsc00626

dsc00630

One of the perks of having tall ceilings is that I can go up with my displays!

Next on my re-do agenda:  the top of our sorter in the living room!

DSC00432

Stay tuned!

Meanwhile, please “like” my Facebook page, where I share fun design inspiration,

including this fab, new hotel in NYC.

https://www.facebook.com/Red-Bird-Vintage-Home-290942574609/

hotel-nyc-lobby

2 responses to “Our Postal Sorter Gets A Fun “Re-Do”

  • nancy

    I see I’m not the only one with marbles in a glass jar. That way we can’t lose them. Ha ha. And, what?. You have 2 Sorters? Looks like you had fun.

  • cardinalkay64

    Ha is right! I have 2 sorters because I bought them for my old retail biz, Heart-in-Hand. I’ve kept them all these years because I can’t bear to part with them. At one time, I thought I’d have another store, but I don’t now. 😉

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix