FIXER UPPER GOES MODERN

Time to talk about everybody’s favorite HGTV show, Fixer Upper.

After an iffy start, I now find Chip very amusing,

+ I have always had a lady crush on Joanna.

fu-chip-and-joanne

I’m sure they’d both be pleased,

because it’s not like they don’t have throngs of super fans or anything.

Meanwhile, check out their latest Fixer Upper project,

which they’ve named the Pick-A-Door House:

fu-modern-before-exterior

Pretty ho hum, no?

fu-modern-after

Wow!  It’s so modern!

So modern, in fact, that I wondered if the show’s fans would embrace it.

Let’s talk about what makes it modern + whether or not we’re on board.

  I’m giving thumbs up for the wide paver + stone walkway,

that black metal roof, the dark gray paint + the double doors.

Have you noticed?  Joanna has a ‘thing’ for them.

Here they are from the inside:

fu-modern-house-entry

Those light wood floors had me swooning,

as do the black metal sliding doors on either side of the entry.

There’s one set for the office, on the left:

fu-modern-office-with-doors-open

fu-modern-office-with-chair-and-shelves

Those light tone wood built ins!  Love!

The second set encloses the dining room, just across the entry hall:

fu-modern-dr-with-sliding-doors-closed

fu-modern-house-dr-mirror-on-wall

Honestly, all I could think was that the doors were crazy cool

but not that functional or necessary,

WHICH is something I usually embrace, wholeheartedly

They probably cost more than MY HOUSE, though,

which is kind of a buzz kill, when you’re me.

Anyway, here’s another view from the adjacent living room:

fu-modern-living-room-fireplace

Don’t you love the color of that leather with all that black + gray?

I call that baseball glove brown, + it’s my fave.

The original fireplace had some structural issues,

so it was replaced with this very modern, concrete one:

fu-modern-lr-fireplace-straight-on

They have intentionally left the marks from the forms,

which makes it rustic + modern + industrial.

I vote yes.

But wait.  Look at the rest of the living room.

  • There’s more concrete.  Or is it faux concrete?

fu-modern-lr-opposite-fp

Oh, dear.

I fear this has gone from industrial chic to cellar hideaway, so thumbs down.

An accent of concrete is good — walls + walls of it, not so much.

But wait.

 Look at that wall of black metal windows —

my favorite feature of the entire re-do!

So much natural light!  I live for it!

fu-modern-living-room-window-wall

Please take a sec to notice all the groovy houseplants + their awesome holders.

They have me yearning to gas up the car + go plant shopping, a.s.a.p.!

+ + + +

Now, then, back to the house — with yet more concrete in the kitchen.

It’s the back side of that fireplace, + once again, I love it.

fu-modern-kitchen-stove-logs

I’m still not digging the concrete on the other walls, though.

fu-modern-kitchen-refrigerator

All that black + gray!   Does anybody need an anti-depressant, or is it just me?

fu-modern-kitchen-after

fu-modern-kitchen-close-up-shelf

fu-modern-kitchen-after-with-window

Oh, cheer up, already.

The light wood floors, beams  + shelves really pop against all that dark,

 + there’s yet more of that fabulous window wall:

fu-modern-kitchen-window-bar

Isn’t that bar epic?

fu-modern-kitchen-window-bar-with-plant

+ + + +

There’s an entirely new master bath + bathroom.

At first, Chip wasn’t on board with the bedroom’s black ship lap feature wall:

fu-modern-bedroom-overview

Oh, if I had a dollar for every time that happens in our little world!

cats-fighting

But let’s get real — I think the black really works

when surrounded by all the light furniture + the white walls:

fu-modern-bedroom-with-hanging-plants

Thumbs up for all the modern ceiling fans, including this one.

But wait a minute.

Those plant hangers are having their moment,

 but that moment’s already taken place inside my very own hacienda,

circa 19 and 73.

I’m not sure I want to return!  What say ye?

+ + + +

While we ponder that, let’s have a quick glimpse of the new master bath,

with yet more black, white + light wood:

fu-modern-bathroom

These large, black hexagon floor tiles are very modern.

They transition into smaller black hexes in the shower,

the walls of which are covered in large black marble rectangles.

Thumbs up or down?

I vote up.

fu-modern-bathroom-shower

Once again — a job well done by the Gaines-es.

Are you a fan,

or are you hoping the next episode features another farmhouse?

Stay tuned!

One response to “FIXER UPPER GOES MODERN

  • staceyweichert

    I think she called the walls a rubbed plaster, and I don’t like that you can see the stop and start of the work. I’m sure more then one ‘assistant’ worked on the walls.
    I like the stacked wood from the sitting area, but not so much from the kitchen.
    She is going with the trend of brass, greyed down oak and macrame! Booo on the plant hangers! I’m not going back there again–EVER!
    Just my thoughts, it looks like the West Elm Store I visited a few months ago.
    The leather is classic and I will adore it always, no matter what room or how it’s used!
    I do like that she puts a rug in front of the sink, it’s something I always do!
    That was fun!

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix

