Tricking Out Our Kitchen Window

One of the first improvements to our Dutch colonial

was replacing the kitchen’s original single window . . .

IMG_0493(1)

. . . with a beautiful, new double window:

IMG_0747(1)

IMG_0754(1)

This change has been one of my favorites,

of all of the improvements we’ve added to our Dutch colonial!

DSC07105

The fabulous light!

The way it makes the room seem more spacious!

What’s not to love?

 Well, there is one down side.

The houses in our old neighborhood are pretty close to each other,

 + sadly, the view of our neighbor’s house isn’t that great.

No offense to the nice family who lives there,

but I don’t want to stare at the side of your house!

So.  What to do?

Here’s an idea from Pinterest:

shelf across winder -- bhg

bhg.com

How about tricking out that window of ours,

so that the eye stops at it, instead of traveling beyond?

Here’s how it was done in this photo:

1. Shelf  with pretty stuff on it (can do!)

+  2. Pretty vintage window sash

I love the vintage window sash (I’ve done it!)

Check it out — this groovy stained glass sash in our kitchen

of the bungalow where we’re currently living:

bungalow window

Since I really would like to repeat this design feature

in our Dutch colonial kitchen,

I am on the hunt for a matching pair of old sashes.

I’m headed to the flea market today, in fact!

Fingers crossed!

Meanwhile, here’s another kitchen window treatment that I love!

shelf over window

At this moment, this is totally what I wish to do in our new kitchen!

There’s privacy galore,

plus a cool spot to display some of my collections!

WINNING!


4 responses to “Tricking Out Our Kitchen Window

  • Dolores

    Loving your window and the sun shining in. Your Dutch Colonial appears much brighter than your bungalow.

  • nancy

    I agree with you on the last option. The house is really taking shape.

    • cardinalkay64

      Affirmative, Dolores! Our bungalow has a beautiful, enclosed porch with 10 windows, but alas, it faces north. There’s a ribbon of short + wide windows facing south in the kitchen, but the large overhangs of a typical bungalow blocks a lot of sunshine. TY for commenting!

    • cardinalkay64

      Nancy, I couldn’t love that window treatment more! I’m definitely going to have to order some sun-resistant fabric, get some brackets + glass, + then have some fun with my “stuff”! TY!

Leave a comment

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix