Why I Love The HGTV Dream Home 2018

Yesterday I actually referred to the HGTV 2018 Dream Home as “meh”.

See for yourself:

DH meh 'before'

NO, I hadn’t viewed the show yet when I said it was “meh”,

so I failed to realize that this photo was the before!

Quick!  Check out the fabulous afters:

DH side 'after'

Did you cringe when the designer chose black paint for the exterior?

I’m used to it being kind of a “thing” now, so I didn’t.

Notice the gray trim.

I think that it really helps to keep the black from being overly somber.

DH outdoor overview

How stellar are all those outdoor seating + dining areas!

And please.  I am so in love with the metal roof!

DH front down low

Show of hands, though.

Who in the world has a garage tidy enough for a pair of glass doors?

Besides nobody!

DH front from above

Meanwhile, I tried but failed to find a photo

of the cute + perky blonde host,

but wasn’t she a clone of Modern Family’s Julie Bowen?

Julie-Bowen-200x200_0

Lady crush!

But back to the house, courtesy of a few FUN befores afters.

Man, that before kitchen is dark,

even if the cabinets + counter tops are white.

DH kitchen before

And what is UP with those stair step upper cabs?

DH kitchen before

TA DA!  Check out the kitchen after!

It’s anything but dark!

DH kitchen after looking across staircase

I like the black lower cabs to the right;

the dark open shelves really make the displayed items pop.

dh-kitchen-after-looking-across-staircase2-e1514990022289.jpeg

The black’s been repeated

in that ultra modern range hood + the island counter tops.

dh-kitchen-after-looking-across-staircase3.jpeg

Remember:  repeating elements results in a cohesive design.

Now, then.  For today’s homework assignment.

homework

Bring home some pretty branches

+ shove them into a glass container.

DH kitchen after looking across staircase

But first — back to the dreary + dark before living room / fireplace wall:

DH fireplace before

This after living room couldn’t be more bright!

DH fireplace after

This kind of thing makes me want to re-paint all our rooms white!

(Don’t tell G.O.)

What do you think of their moving the fireplace to the window wall?

dh-fireplace-after.jpeg

I’d never have thought of it, but it makes sense

+ allows the furniture placement to focus on both it + that beautiful view!

I’m a fan of a pair of couches facing each other in a room,

+ I really love sofa tables.

There’s 2!  Perfect!

dh-fireplace-after1.jpeg

Just across the room is a very pretty dining area:

DH fish picture + dining chairs in blush

A+ for the personal + meaningful artwork

+ kudos for bravely adding those complementary pink dining chairs!

Yikes, though.  THIS:

DH bathroom before

Now, it’s this!

DH bathroom after

Beautiful!

Is anybody on board with the black bathroom hardware?

It’s definitely a “thing”have you noticed?

dh-bathroom-after1.jpeg

DH bathroom after with gray vanity

I’m really in love with the gray vanity + the pretty gray + white striped towel!

dh-bathroom-after-with-gray-vanity1-e1514993075533.jpeg

Those mirrors!  Yum!

dh-bathroom-after-with-gray-vanity2.jpeg

Check out the one that I’ve chosen for our upstairs bath

at the Dutch colonial:

black mirror

Speaking of which,

I do believe it’s time to blog about that upstairs bathroom.

Here I go, camera in hand, up the staircase,

so stay tuned!


5 responses to “Why I Love The HGTV Dream Home 2018

  • Dolores

    Your comments made the ‘tour’ of the ‘re-done’ house enjoyable!

  • hdj8498tx

    The living room picture that shows the fireplace being moved to the other wall. The back wall of that picture I keep looking at and comparing it with the redo. They had to lower that back wall and reslant that whole ceiling by the way that picture looks? They even put in a smaller window on that back wall. Am I just looking at it wrong or do you see that too? I can’t imagine why they would do that. And for some reason I thought the hgtv House was a new build not a redo? I haven’t seen it in forever though, I used to watch it ever year.

Leave a comment

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix