TYPEWRITER TABLE PROJECT

1st-project-party-2013

Typewriter table "before"

Typewriter table “before”

I don’t know about you — but I can’t resist the vintage metal ANYthing with wheels. I bought this old typewriter stand last fall + have been dreaming of tricking it out into a side table ever since.

I thought we’d have to find a stone supplier + see if they had any remnants in the highly-coveted honed marble.

Almost 4-1/2 months of procrastination later . . . + this past Monday, I walk into a huge tile outlet store in Chicago. There they were! A stack of said-same honed marble tiles in THE 18″ x 18″ size of my typewriter table!

18" x 18" honed marble tile.

18″ x 18″ honed marble tile.

My pal, Alan, instructed me, “Don’t say anything!” as he walked to the check-out counter. “I’d like to buy this SAMPLE,” he said, to which the tile personnel replied, “Take it!”

I KNOW!!!  This kind of thing never happens to ME (+ don’t you kind of hate me right now for bragging?)

Typewriter table in progress

Typewriter table in progress

Now comes the “fun” part. I’ll admit it — I have issues with tabletop display! It never looks right to me! But here are some stabs.

Here it is, in place!

Here it is, in place!

2 responses to “TYPEWRITER TABLE PROJECT

Leave a Reply

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

Earnest Home co.

The New Traditional

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hommemaker

A Life & Style Site by Orlando Soria

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix