Gray Woodwork, The Sequel

gray woodwork -- living room

I pinned this photo today

+ commented that it might be time to bring back gray woodwork.

You see, way back in 19 + 85,

I painted my kitchen cabs + woodwork a luscious gray

from Benjamin Moore’s historical color chart.

See for yourself in this spectacular Polaroid snapshot:

IMG_0977(1)

I’m really rocking my 80’s perm + sweater,

+ I’m pretty sure those are acid washed jeans with pleats.

Va va va voom!

* * * *

But back to TO-day, people.

Here’s what I’ve been trying (but failing)

to persuade myself to do in our Dutch colonial:

gray walls -- #1

Dark gray walls!  Yesh!

You see, our new home is blessed with 1 south + 1 west-facing bay,

both sporting nice, big windows . . .

IMG_0755(1)

. . . the woodwork of which some interloper chose to paint, years ago:

IMG_0748(1)

Tragic or no?

When we first toured our house, both our (very nice) realtor + G.O.

immediately agreed that we’d have to strip it all

+ return it to its natural glory.

Thankfully, there’s plenty of natural gloriousness remaining:

P1020771(1).

Meanwhile, I said nothing

(at the TIME — I mean, who wants to quarrel in front of the real estate lady?)

You see, images of dark gray walls with luscious white woodwork

were already dashing through my head!

black bathroom

black walls

Since then, I’ve given it my best college try, people,

but I just can’t pull the trigger on the dark gray walls.

White walls make me happy . . .

gray woodwork -- living room

. . . +, after all these years,

I guess I’m still carrying a torch for gray woodwork!

So that’s why, when I came across this photo,  I was thrilled!

Immediately, I set out to find more images of said-same:

gray woodwork -- staircase

gray woodwork - bathroom

Loving the relaxed Roman shades!

gray woodwork -- bedroom door

Now I’ve got my it’s-great-when-a-plan-comes-together buzz!

I’ll share said-same with G.O. — LATER.

I mean, who wants to quarrel

on such a beautiful summer morning?


2 responses to “Gray Woodwork, The Sequel

  • staceyweichert

    Our first home was a Cape Cod, built in 1936…the woodwork had been painted, and with much struggle we gave up on stripping the woodwork.
    I painted it a grey from the new Martha Stewart paint colors (early 90’s)
    Oh I loved it and still miss that home and its spirit!
    I look forward to your painting!

    • cardinalkay64

      High fives, girlfriend, on the gray woodwork love! We were just at Home Depot yesterday, where I stopped to admire all of Martha’s colors. Nobody does paint color quite like Martha, unless it would be Ralph Lauren. His are pretty awesome, too! Oh, I’ve always wanted a cape cod home! There’s one particularly swell one circulating throughout blogland; I need to find it + share!
      K A Y

Leave a comment

THE CAVENDER DIARY

2 GROWN MEN vs a 40 YEAR OLD HOUSE

down to earth digs

life in and around the garden

bubblewrappedblog

Poppable Reviews of Books, Movies, and Beauty

Lifestyle & Design Online

Sharing our life, our style, & design online.

Hooked on Houses

A Fun Place to Get Your House Fix